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SUMMARY:

Where defendant had been convicted in 1978 of attempted rape and adjudicated as a sexual predator in 1997; where, in 2006, defendant filed a motion pursuant to State v. Champion, 106 Ohio St.3d 120, 2005-Ohio-4098, 832 N.E.2d 718, to set aside the order requiring him to register as a sexual predator under former R.C. Chapter 2950 (“Megan’s Law”), and the trial court overruled the motion, but never ordered the clerk to serve defendant with a copy of the order overruling the motion; and where, in 2016, defendant filed a motion requesting that the trial court comply with Civ.R. 58(B) and serve him with the 2006 order overruling the motion, the trial court granted the motion and ordered the clerk to serve defendant with the 2006 order, and defendant filed a notice of appeal from the 2006 order within 30 days of service, defendant’s 2016 appeal of the overruling of his 2006 motion was timely.
The Ohio Supreme Court’s holding in State v. Clayborn, 125 Ohio St.3d 450, 2010-Ohio-2123, 928 N.E.2d 1093, that a direct appeal from a sex-offender-classification judgment “is an appeal in a criminal case that must be filed pursuant to App.R. 4(A) within 30 days after judgment is entered,” does not apply where defendant is not appealing from the initial sex-offender-classification judgment; Civ.R. 58(B) service rules apply where defendant is appealing from a judgment overruling a motion filed after conviction to vacate his sex-offender classification.
Where the record showed that defendant had completed his sentence for attempted rape well before July 1, 1997, Megan’s Law’s effective date, but was serving time on that date for two thefts, he has no duty to register as a sex offender.
JUDGMENT:

REVERSED AND CAUSE REMANDED
JUDGES:
OPINION by MYERS, P.J.; MILLER and DETERS, JJ., CONCUR.

