IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT OF OHIO
HAMILTON COUNTY, OHIO

ANTHONY LOUIS, d.b.a. T. LOUIS : APPEAL NO. C-130583
CONSTRUCTION, TRIAL NO. A-1005337
Plaintiff-Appellee,
VS.
JUDGMENT ENTRY.
KIMBERLY FULTON,

Defendant-Appellant,
and
WILLIE JONES,
and
BANK OF AMERICA,

Defendants.

We consider this appeal on the accelerated calendar, and this judgment entry
is not an opinion of the court. See S.Ct.R.Rep.Op. 2; App.R. 11.1(E); 1st Dist. Loc.R.
11.1.1.

Defendant-appellant Kimberly Fulton appeals the judgment of the trial court
adopting a decision of the magistrate determining that Fulton owed $9,610.85 to
plaintiff-appellee Anthony Louis, d.b.a. T. Louis Construction on Louis’s claim for
unjust enrichment. Because we determine that Fulton’s appeal was not filed within
30 days of the entry of the trial court’s judgment as required by App.R. 4(A), we must

grant Louis’s motion to dismiss Fulton’s appeal.
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In this case, the clerk entered the trial court’s judgment adopting the
magistrate’s decision on the docket on Friday, August 9, 2013, and then noted service
of the judgment by ordinary mail on the docket on Tuesday, August 13, 2013.
Although the docket entry indicates that Fulton filed her notice of appeal on
September 11, 2013, the notice of appeal was actually filed electronically on Tuesday,
September 10, 2013. Subsequently, Louis filed a motion to dismiss Fulton’s appeal
as untimely under App.R. 4(A).

App.R. 4(A) states that “[a] party shall file the notice of appeal required by
App.R. 3 within thirty days of the later of entry of the judgment or order appealed or,
in a civil case, service of the notice of judgment and its entry if service is not made on
the party within the three day period in Rule 58(B) of the Ohio Rules of Civil
Procedure.” Civ.R. 58(B) requires the clerk to serve parties in accordance with Civ.R.
5(B) within three days of the entry of judgment, and requires the clerk to note the
service on the docket. If the clerk fails to serve parties in a civil case with the
appealable judgment in the manner prescribed by Civ.R. 58(B), App.R. 4(A) operates
as a toll of the 30-day timeframe for filing a notice of appeal until the clerk serves the
judgment. Roberts v. Columbus City Police Impound Div., 195 Ohio App.3d 51,
2011-Ohio-2873, 958 N.E.2d 970, 17 (10th Dist.), citing State ex rel. Sautter v. Grey,
117 Ohio St.3d 465, 2008-Ohio-1444, 884 N.E.2d 1062, { 16.

The time requirement in App.R. 4(A) is jurisdictional and cannot be enlarged
by an appellate court. State ex rel. Pendell v. Adams Cty. Bd. of Elections, 40 Ohio
St.3d 58, 60, 531 N.E.2d 713 (1988); In re Ross, 154 Ohio App.3d 1, 2003-Ohio-4419,

796 N.E.2d 6, 1 20 (1st Dist.); App.R. 14(B).
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In response to Louis’s motion to dismiss, Fulton contends that the clerk did
not comply with the three-day requirement under Civ.R. 58(B). We disagree. The
judgment was entered on the docket on August 9, 2013, so that day is excluded from
the three-day requirement under Civ.R. 58(B). See Civ.R. 6(A) (which excludes from
the computation of time the day “from which the designated period of time begins to
run”). Moreover, Saturday, August 9 and Sunday, August 10 are also excluded from
the three-day count. See id. (providing that “[w]hen the period of time prescribed or
allowed is less than seven days, intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays
shall be excluded in the computation.”). The clerk in this case noted service of the
judgment by ordinary mail on Tuesday, August 13, 2013, within the three-day period
required under Civ.R. 58(B).

Thus, because the clerk served Fulton within the three-day period required by
Civ.R. 58(B), Fulton had 30 days from the entry of judgment on August 9, 2013, in
which to file her notice of appeal under App.R. 4(A). Fulton, however, did not file
her notice of appeal until Tuesday, September 10, 2013, which is more than 30 days
from August 9, 2013. See App.R. 14(A).

Because Fulton’s notice of appeal was not filed within the 30-day timeframe
required under App.R. 4(A), this court is without jurisdiction over her appeal, and we
must dismiss it. See Pendell, 40 Ohio St.3d 58, 60, 531 N.E.2d 713; see also App.R.
14(B).

The appeal is hereby dismissed.

Further, a certified copy of this judgment entry shall constitute the mandate,
which shall be sent to the trial court under App.R. 27. Costs shall be taxed under

App.R. 24.
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HILDEBRANDT, P.J., DINKELACKER and FISCHER, JJ.
To the clerk:
Enter upon the journal of the court on June 25, 2014

per order of the court

Presiding Judge



