Commissioners Elect Commissioner Reece President and Commissioner Driehaus Vice President

Commissioner Reece received the gavel from Commissioner Summerow Dumas

At the organizational meeting of the Hamilton County Board of County Commissioners, Commission President Stephanie Summerow Dumas passed the gavel after a unanimous vote to elect Commissioner Alicia Reece as president and Commissioner Denise Driehaus as vice president.

Statutorily (ORC 305.05), the President of the Board presides over regular meetings and special sessions of the board. The annual organizational meeting of the Board must occur, by law, no later than the second Monday of January. Additionally in Hamilton County, the president sets the agenda for Tuesday staff meetings with input from the other commission offices.

"Our goal is for Hamilton County to be #1 in the country to live, work, own a business, visit for tourism and be cutting edge on new technology," said the newly-elected President of the Board Alicia Reece.

President Reece made two major announcements: she will be delivering the State of the County in late January; and will be unveiling the 513Relief Bus later this month (details to follow). "We are taking action now," said President Reece.

"I am grateful for the opportunity to continue serving the citizens of Hamilton County," said Vice President Denise Driehaus. "We will do everything in our power to ensure the county delivers the best public services at the best cost for our taxpayers."

"Today is a new chapter in Hamilton County’s history with the first ceremonial Passing of the Gavel," said Commissioner Stephanie Summerow Dumas who was sworn in today as she started her second term in office. "I’m so proud of all the accomplishments and am excited about the new initiatives coming in 2023."

Commissioners also determined which boards and commissions they will each join. President Alicia Reece was appointed to the Board of Revision, Records Commission, Family and Children First Council, Hamilton County Investment Advisory Committee, Hamilton County Economic Recovery Task Force and VisitCincy CVB.

Vice President Denise Driehaus will sit on the executive board of REDI Cincinnati, Hamilton County Recycling and Solid Waste District, and Hamilton County Storm Water District Oversight Board and Hamilton County Investment Advisory Committee.

Commissioner Stephanie Summerow Dumas was appointed to the Southwest Ohio Region Workforce Investment Board. All commissioners sit on these boards: Hamilton County Land Reutilization Corporation; Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana Regional Council of Governments; OneOhio Region 2 Recovery Foundation Governance Board; and the Hamilton County Emergency Management Agency.

The Board of County Commissioners typically meets in Commission Chambers located on the 6th floor of the Todd B. Portune Center for County Government, 138 East Court Street, Cincinnati OH 45202. View the Commissioners calendar here. Commissioners also invite the public to participate in public comment either in person or virtually on Thursdays at 1 p.m. during regularly scheduled Commission meetings. Commission meetings can be viewed online through the County website, Facebook or Youtube Channel. Commission meetings are also televised by the Intercommunity Cable Regulatory Commission and can be found on cable in ICRC communities.

Posted on 01/05/2023